Founding Executive Board

Founding President

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans Jürgen Prömel has assumed office as Founding President of the tenth state-run university in Bavaria on March 1st, 2021.

Prof. Hans Jürgen Prömel

From 2007 to 2019, Prof. Prömel held the office of President of the Technical University Darmstadt.

Born in Bienen (now Rees) in Northrhine-Westphalia in 1953, he studied mathematics and economics at the University of Bielefeld and completed his doctorate in mathematics. Following placements in Los Angeles and Bonn, where he held a professorship for discrete mathematics, he took up a professorship for theoretical computer science at the Humboldt University in Berlin. For seven years, he was full-time Vice President for Research there, starting in 2000. Prof. Prömel was also President of the TU9 and spokesman of the Council of Technical Universities in Germany in the German Rectors’ Conference.

Founding Vice President for Academic and International Affairs

Since January 1st, 2022, Prof. Dr. Isa Jahnke has been Founding Vice President for Academic and International Affairs at the University of Technology Nuremberg. In addition, she has been granted professorship of Information Science & Learning Technologies.

Prof. Dr. Isa Jahnke

Prof. Jahnke is a renowned expert in the field of digital learning. As Founding Vice President for Academic and International Affairs she will be responsible for incorporating digital teaching and learning at the University of Technology Nuremberg. For more than 15 years, she has studied digital learning and the implementation of modern technologies in teaching and learning. One of the core competences of Prof. Jahnke is to combine IT-related issues with educational science.

Prof. Jahnke completed her dissertation as Dr. phil. (Ph.D.) at TU Dortmund in 2005. From 2011 to 2015, she was Professor at the Department for Applied Educational Sciences at Umeå University in Sweden. From 2015 to 2021, she was Associate Professor at the School of Information Science and Learning Technologies within the University of Missouri-Columbia in the United States, where she was also Director of the Information Experience Lab.

Provost

Dr. Markus Zanner has assumed office as Provost of the tenth state-run university in Bavaria on January 1st, 2021.

Dr. Markus Zanner

From 2011 onwards, Dr. Zanner was provost of the University of Bayreuth where he was also entrusted with establishing the new campus in Kulmbach. Before that, he held various responsible positions in science management at the Technical University of Munich, e.g. Head of the Department for the Promotion of Research, and Managing Director of the TUM Institute for Advanced Study.

Markus Zanner was born in Weiden in 1967. He studied history, religious science and romance studies at the University of Regensburg and spent one year of his studies at the Universidad Nacional de Misiones in Argentina, where he enrolled in history and anthropology. He completed his graduation as Dr. phil. at the University of Regensburg in 2000.

Gründungspräsidium

Gründungspräsident

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans Jürgen Prömel hat zum 1. März 2021 das Amt des Gründungspräsidenten der zehnten staatlichen Universität im Freistaat angetreten.

Prof. Hans Jürgen Prömel

Prof. Prömel war zuletzt von 2007 bis 2019 Präsident der Technischen Universität Darmstadt.

Er wurde 1953 in Bienen (jetzt Rees) in Nordrhein-Westfalen geboren. An der Universität Bielefeld studierte er Mathematik und Wirtschaftswissenschaften, wo er auch seine Promotion in Mathematik abschloss. Nach Professuren für Diskrete Mathematik in Los Angeles und Bonn wechselte er 1994 als Professor für Theoretische Informatik an die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Dort war er ab 2000 sieben Jahre hauptamtlicher Vizepräsident für Forschung. Prof. Prömel war unter anderem Präsident der TU9 und Sprecher der Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Technischen Universitäten Deutschlands in der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz.

Gründungsvizepräsidentin für Studium, Lehre und Internationales

Prof. Dr. Isa Jahnke ist seit 1. Januar 2022 Gründungsvizepräsidentin für Studium, Lehre und Internationales an der Technischen Universität Nürnberg. Zudem hat sie die Professur „Information Science & Learning Technologies“ inne.

Prof. Isa Jahnke

Prof. Jahnke ist Expertin für den Themenkomplex digitale Didaktik. Als Gründungsvizepräsidentin für Studium, Lehre und Internationales wird sie an der TU Nürnberg den Bereich digitales Lehren und Lernen verankern. Seit über 15 Jahren beschäftigt sich die Wissenschaftlerin mit der Anwendung von digitalen Technologien beim Lehren und Lernen. Eine der Kernkompetenzen von Prof. Jahnke ist es, Themen der Informatik mit Themen der Erziehungswissenschaften zu verknüpfen.

Ihre Promotion zur Dr. phil. hat Prof. Jahnke im Jahr 2005 an der TU Dortmund abgeschlossen. Von 2011 bis 2015 hatte sie eine Professur am Department für Applied Educational Sciences an der Umeå Universität in Schweden inne. Von 2015 bis 2021 war sie Professorin an der School of Information Science and Learning Technologies der Universität Missouri-Columbia in den USA. Dort arbeitete sie unter anderem als Forschungsdirektorin für das Information Experience Lab.

Kanzler

Dr. Markus Zanner hat zum 1. Januar 2021 das Amt des Kanzlers der zehnten staatlichen Universität im Freistaat angetreten.

Dr. Markus Zanner

Dr. Zanner war seit 2011 als Kanzler der Universität Bayreuth tätig und dort u. a. maßgeblich am Aufbau des neuen Campus in Kulmbach beteiligt. Zuvor hielt er mehr als zehn Jahre lang verschiedene verantwortungsvolle Positionen im Wissenschaftsmanagement der Technischen Universität München inne, u. a. als Leiter der Stabsabteilung für Forschungsförderung und Geschäftsführer des TUM Institute for Advanced Study.

Markus Zanner wurde 1967 in Weiden in der Oberpfalz geboren. Er studierte Geschichte, Religionswissenschaft und Romanistik an der Universität Regensburg und verbrachte für das Studium der Geschichte und Anthropologie ein Jahr an der Universidad Nacional de Misiones in Argentinien. Seine Promotion zum Dr. phil. schloss er 2000 an der Universität Regensburg ab.