Departments

The University of Technology Nuremberg considers itself to be an interdisciplinary university with a strong networking approach. We are convinced that new and all-emcompassing knowledge and innovation can only grow where excellence from various different disciplines interacts.

The University of Technology Nuremberg comprises departments designed to overcome disciplinary boundaries. Each professorship is assigned to one department. In the future, however, all department members will conduct cross-boundary research and teaching. One aspect of this approach are the so-called fields of activity which will be centered around major issues and topics of the future. The School of Students and Young Researchers (StaRs), which is currently being set up, will support professors when it comes to developing a range of courses.

In 2022, the main focus is on the development of the Department of Engineering, which is intended to bundle all disciplines relating to engineering and science. Besides the interdisciplinary setup, the university is to have an international and digital approach. The foundation of the second department Liberal Arts and Sciences is envisaged for the second half of 2022. It will comprise humanities, social and natural sciences as well as mathematics.

Departments

Die Technische Universität Nürnberg versteht sich als interdisziplinär arbeitende Netzwerkuniversität. Wir sind überzeugt, dass dort, wo sich Exzellenz aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen begegnet, neue und umfassende Erkenntnisse sowie Innovationen für die Gesellschaft entstehen.

An der TU Nürnberg gibt es aus diesem Grund Departments, die Fächergrenzen überwinden. Jede Professur ist einem Department zugeordnet. Die Mitglieder der Departments werden zukünftig auch über die Department-Grenzen hinweg zusammen forschen und lehren. Das soll unter anderem durch sogenannte Aktivitätsfelder realisiert werden, die sich an großen Zukunftsfragen und -themen orientieren. Zudem wird die aktuell entstehende Graduate School Professorinnen und Professoren dabei unterstützen, das Lehrangebot zu entwickeln.

Im Jahr 2022 liegt der Fokus auf dem Aufbau des Departments Engineering, das alle ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen an der TU Nürnberg bündelt. Weitere Besonderheiten neben dem interdisziplinären Ansatz ist die internationale und digitale Ausrichtung der Universität. Die Gründung des zweiten Departments Liberal Arts and Sciences soll in der zweiten Jahreshälfte 2022 erfolgen. Dieses wird die geistes-, sozial- und naturwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen sowie die Mathematik umfassen.