The University of Technology Nuremberg

In 2017, the Bavarian Government decided to set up a new university in Nuremberg for up to 6,000 new places of study. The University of Technology Nuremberg has been officially founded on January 1st, 2021. The commitment and opportunity of this new foundation is to build a university which has a role-model function within the German academic system.

The focal point of the new university will be the major social issues of the future. These will be jointly addressed by technical science, natural science, humanities and social sciences, across all traditional disciplinary boundaries.

The University of Technology Nuremberg wants to prepare and train its students for the labor market of the future, thus acting as a driver for innovation for the metropolitan region of Nuremberg and enriching Bavaria as a center of science.

The Concept

With the first foundation of a state-run university in Germany in almost 30 years, Bavaria is breaking new ground. The strategic cornerstones of the new university will be:

  • Interdisciplinary exchange of technical and natural science with humanities and social sciences

  • Research and teaching across all disciplinary boundaries

  • Consistent end-to-end digitization of research, teaching and administration

  • International expertise with strong regional roots

  • The first genuine campus university in direct urban surroundings

  • Innovative and lean governance with flat hierarchies

  • Research, teaching and transfer of knowledge and technology in a harmonized approach

  • Research-related and solution-oriented teaching with close interaction between teachers and students

  • Focus on lifelong education based on learning opportunities which are both flexible in time and space

  • Close interaction with regional and international universities and non-university research institutes and companies.

  • Systematic support of university spin-offs and innovations

In aggregate, the University of Technology Nuremberg will be a place for thinking university anew. According to the Science Council, it could be “a field test for elements of higher education and science, thus in the long term becoming a model for the German university system.”

The official statement of the Science Council can be downloaded in German using the following link: Wissenschaftsrat – Publikationen – Stellungnahme zum Konzept zur Gründung der Technischen Universität Nürnberg (Drs. 8254-20), Januar 2020

Über uns

Die Bayerische Staatsregierung hat im Jahr 2017 beschlossen, in Nürnberg eine neue Universität mit bis zu 6.000 neuen Studienplätzen zu schaffen. Zum 1. Januar 2021 wurde die Technische Universität Nürnberg formell errichtet. Anspruch und Chance der Neugründung ist es, eine Universität mit Modellcharakter im deutschen Wissenschaftssystem zu realisieren.

An der neuen Universität stehen die großen gesellschaftlichen Zukunftsfragen im Vordergrund. Diese werden gemeinsam von den Technik-, Natur-, Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften beantwortet. Traditionelle Fächergrenzen gibt es an der TU Nürnberg nicht.

Die Technische Universität Nürnberg wird ihre Studierenden für den Arbeitsmarkt der Zukunft ausbilden. Damit wird sie zum Innovationsmotor für die Metropolregion Nürnberg und zu einer Bereicherung für den Wissenschaftsstandort Bayern.

Das Konzept

Bayern beschreitet mit der ersten Gründung einer staatlichen Universität im Freistaat seit über 40 Jahren völlig neue Wege. Folgende Eckpfeiler prägen die künftige Universität:

  • Generierung von Tech-Wissen und -Innovationen für die Gesellschaft zur Lösung globaler Herausforderungen
  • Interdisziplinarität, Internationalität und Digitalität im Lern-, Lehr -, Forschungs- und Arbeitsalltag
  • Chancengleichheit unabhängig von Geschlecht, Alter, sexueller Orientierung, Weltanschauung oder Religion, Herkunft oder Behinderung
  • Digitale und moderne Verwaltung mit starker Serviceorientierung, flachen Hierarchien und ausgeprägter Kooperation der verschiedenen Bereiche
  • Errichtung einer urbanen und nachhaltigen Campusuniversität

An der TU Nürnberg wird Universität neu gedacht. Sie kann in den Worten des Wissenschaftsrats zu einem „Reallabor für die Erprobung von hochschul- und wissenschaftspolitischen Elementen werden und auf lange Sicht Modellcharakter für das deutsche Hochschulsystem erlangen“.

Die Stellungnahme des Wissenschaftsrats ist über folgenden Link abrufbar: Wissenschaftsrat – Publikationen – Stellungnahme zum Konzept zur Gründung der Technischen Universität Nürnberg (Drs. 8254-20), Januar 2020