Founding Executive Board

Founding President

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Hans Jürgen Prömel has assumed office as Founding President of the tenth state-run university in Bavaria on March 1st, 2021.

Prof. Hans Jürgen Prömel

From 2007 to 2019, Prof. Prömel held the office of President of the Technical University Darmstadt.

Born in Bienen (now Rees) in Northrhine-Westphalia in 1953, he studied mathematics and economics at the University of Bielefeld and completed his doctorate in mathematics. Following placements in Los Angeles and Bonn, where he held a professorship for discrete mathematics, he took up a professorship for theoretical computer science at the Humboldt University in Berlin. For seven years, he was full-time Vice President for Research there, starting in 2000. Prof. Prömel was also President of the TU9 and spokesman of the Council of Technical Universities in Germany in the German Rectors’ Conference.


Dr. Markus Zanner has assumed office as Provost of the tenth state-run university in Bavaria on January 1st, 2021.

Dr. Markus Zanner

From 2011 onwards, Dr. Zanner was provost of the University of Bayreuth where he was also entrusted with establishing the new campus in Kulmbach. Before that, he held various responsible positions in science management at the Technical University of Munich, e.g. Head of the Department for the Promotion of Research, and Managing Director of the TUM Institute for Advanced Study.

Markus Zanner was born in Weiden in 1967. He studied history, religious science and romance studies at the University of Regensburg and spent one year of his studies at the Universidad Nacional de Misiones in Argentina, where he enrolled in history and anthropology. He completed his graduation as Dr. phil. at the University of Regensburg in 2000.