• The Bavarian Government passes a trailblazing resolution to establish a new university in Nuremberg, which, upon overall completion, is to provide up to 6,000 students.

    The concept is drawn up by a Structural Commission comprising eminent experts under the chairmanship of the President of the Technical University of Munich at the time, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang A. Herrmann.

  • In October 2018, the Bavarian Government presents the “Concept for the Foundation of the University of Technology Nuremberg”, drawn up by the Structural Commission, to the Science Council for review.

    In the south of Nuremberg on Brunecker Straße, the State of Bavaria purchases an area covering 37.5 hectares for the new campus university in direct urban surroundings.

  • The year marks the beginning of planning the urban structures and the first building for the location on Brunecker Straße. At the same time, preliminary action is taken to prepare the site – also regarding a protection of species evaluation and developing work of the land plot.

  • With the positive evaluation of the concept by the Science Council early in 2020, the green light is given for the in-depth operative realization of the project, which has advanced at an incredible pace ever since.

    The City of Nuremberg and the State of Bavaria jointly sign a declaration in March 2020, laying down the cornerstones for the urban development agreement to be signed.

    In December 2020, the Bavarian Parliament passes the “Act on the Establishment of the University of Technology Nuremberg”, thus paving the way for the establishment of the new university starting on January 1, 2021. On the same date, the development regulation comes into force which forms the statutory framework for the first few years.

  • The tenth state-run university in Bavaria has been officially set up on January 1, 2021. Dr. Markus Zanner is appointed Provost.

    On March 1, 2021, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans Jürgen Prömel takes up office as Founding President.

    In April 2021, the winner design is selected for the structural and urban design framework. It was submitted by the team around Ferdinand Heide Architekten/TOPOS.

    On August 27, the first groundbreaking ceremony takes place on the construction site on Brunecker Straße.

    December 2021 sees the naming of the first street on the campus: As a name giver, the Nuremberg City Council selected the astrophysicist and mechanical engineer Dr. Luise Herzberg.

    In the same month, a cooperation agreement is signed for a modular building for the Technische Hochschule Nürnberg to be erected on the campus of the University of Technology Nuremberg. The building will be ready to use early in 2024. After the initial period of 15 years covered by the agreement, the building will be transferred to the University of Technology Nuremberg.

  • On January 1, Professor Dr. Isa Jahnke is granted the professorship of Information Science & Learning Technologies, besides being appointed first Vice President. As Founding Vice President for Academic and International Affairs, she will complement the existing Executive Board and develop and enhance digital teaching and learning with modern technologies and instructional designs.

    On February 1, Prof. Dr. Wolfram Burgard takes office as Founding Chair of the Department of Engineering and Professor for Artificial Intelligence and Robotics. The University of Technology Nuremberg has established its first Department.

    Under the heading “Meet the University”, the University of Technology Nuremberg celebrates its first campus festival on July 22. The celebration takes place on the construction site covering 37 hectares in Nuremberg’s new quarters of Lichtenreuth. In the opening ceremony, the new corporate design is presented.

    Mid November, Prime Minister Dr. Markus Söder, Secretary of State Markus Blume, Secretary of State Christian Bernreiter, Mayor Marcus König, Mr. Michael Lueb, Division Manager of the State Building Authority, and Founding President Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans Jürgen Prömel laid the foundation stone for the first building on the campus.

  • On March 9, 2023, the design competition for two more buildings in the north of the campus area was completed.  The winning concept convinced the jury in particular with its clear urban planning decision to situate the two buildings differently.

    On April 1, Prof. Dr. Alexander Martin completed the Founding Presidium as Founding Vice President for Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship. Also on April 1, Prof. Dr. Gyburg Uhlmann accepted the appointment as Professor of classical philology at the UTN.  As Founding Chair, she will establish the Department of Liberal Arts and Sciences.